• Deutsch
  • English

Nanomilling of active pharmaceutical ingredients (API) in stirred media mills

Contact Person: André Bitterlich

Nanoparticles are already used in products of daily life like paint or sunscreen to improve performance. In pharmaceutical industries they start to play an important role as well. Due to the nanoparticles’ high surface area-to-volume ratio, the solubility of non- or hardly soluble products is strongly improved. That leads to an increased bioavailability which allows the use of a broad variety of new API in pharmacological applications.
Until now, nanomilling has been mainly investigated for inorganic systems. The applicability of this knowledge on pharmaceutical (organic) particles has to be investigated.

Within the framework of this project, the influence of operating parameters and stabilizers on the comminution of API will be analysed. Especially the determination of maximum product fineness and the minimization of product contamination by wear of grinding media will be an important part of the research. The influence of operating parameters and stabilizers on product morphology will be studied as well.
By using micromechanical measuring techniques, specific properties of the nanoparticles like elastic and plastic deformation will be analysed. The objective is to find a dependency between these parameters and the particles fracture behaviour.
Furthermore, an important part of this project is the establishment of a procedure for systematic stabilizer selection.

Fig. 1 Rotor and Grinding chamber of SMM  Fig. 2 Ground Product

Publications:
A. Bitterlich, C. Komoß, D. Steiner, H. Bunjes, A. Kwade (2011) Nanomilling of Naproxen in Stirred Media Mills, 7th International Symposium Fine Grinding and Dispersing, Braunschweig, Germany, Conf. Proc., 28-35 (ISBN 13 978-3-86844-368-4)


Team Members

Current Projects

Future Grinding Technologies more

Charge-based selective separation of submicron particles from grinding processes more

Silicon Graphite goes Industry more

Ultra-fine grinding of multi-component systems in stirred media mills more

Increase of the energy efficiency by controlling the flow properties and minimizing the agglomeration in dry fine grinding processes more

Stress events in planetary ball mills and their application on scaling and mill-changing behaviour more

Nanogrinding of organic and inorganic materials more

Nanogrinding of pharmaceutical ingredients in stirred media mills more

Finished Projects

• Deutsch
  • English

Nanozerkleinerung von pharmazeutischen Wirkstoffen in Rührwerkskugelmühlen

Projektbearbeitung:  André Bitterlich

Nanopartikel sind in vielen Produkten des täglichen Bedarfs wie Farben und Sonnencremes enthalten. Auch in der pharmazeutischen Industrie spielen diese eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle. Aufgrund des hohen Oberflächen-zu-Volumenverhältnisses von Nanopartikeln wird die Löslichkeit sonst schwer oder unlöslicher Produkte durch die Nanozerkleinerung deutlich vergrößert. Dies erhöht die Bioverfügbarkeit und eröffnet den Zugang zu neuen und mitunter innovativen Stoffklassen in der pharmakologischen Anwendung.
Die (Nano-)Zerkleinerung in Rührwerkskugelmühlen wurde bisher im Wesentlichen an anorganischen Systemen untersucht. Die Übertragbarkeit der Erkenntnisse auf pharmazeutische (organische) Partikeln gilt es zu klären.

Daher soll im Rahmen dieses Projektes untersucht werden, welchen Einfluss Betriebsparameter und Stabilisatoren auf die Zerkleinerung pharmazeutischer Wirkstoffe haben. Im Fokus stehen insbesondere die Ermittlung der maximalen Produktfeinheit und die Minimierung der Produktkontamination durch Mahlkörperverschleiß. Ferner sollen Einflüsse der Betriebsparameter und Stabilisatoren auf die Produktmorphologie analysiert werden.
Mithilfe von mikromechanischen Messungen sollen mechanische Kennwerte der Partikeln, wie elastisches und plastisches Formungsverhalten analysiert werden. Eine Verknüpfung dieser Eigenschaften mit dem Bruchverhalten wird dabei angestrebt.
Ein wichtiger Gesichtspunkt im Bereich der Nanozerkleinerung pharmazeutischer Wirkstoffe ist zudem die Entwicklung von Methodiken zur systematischen Stabilisatorwahl.

Abb.: Zerkleinertes Produkt

Publikationen zum Projekt:

  1. A. Bitterlich, C. Komoß, D. Steiner, H. Bunjes, A. Kwade (2011) Nanomilling of Naproxen in Stirred Media Mills, 7th International Symposium Fine Grinding and Dispersing, Braunschweig, Germany, Conf. Proc., 28-35 (ISBN 13 978-3-86844-368-4)

AG – Mitarbeiter

Aktuelle Projekte
Silicon Graphite goes Industry mehr

Feinstzerkleinerung von Mehrstoffsystemen in Rührwerkskugelmühlen mehr

Steigerung der Energieeffizienz durch Steuerung der Fließeigenschaften und Minimierung der Agglomeration bei der trockenen Feinzerkleinerung mehr

Ressourceneffiziente chemische Synthese – Prozessentwicklung in Kugelmühlen für lösungsmittelfreie Reaktionen (RESPEKT) mehr

PVZ-Verbundprojekt SynFoBiA
Verarbeitung nanopartikulärer Wirkstoffe zu neuartigen festen Formen mehr

Entwicklung eines Verfahrens und der Anlagentechnik zur kontaminationsminimierten Feinstzerkleinerung organischer Wirkstoffe auf der Basis des elektromechanischen Wirkprinzips mehr

Beanspruchungsvorgänge in Planetenkugelmühlen und deren Anwendung auf die Maßstabs- und Mühlenübertragung mehr

Nanozerkleinerung organischer und anorganischer Materialien mehr

Abgeschlossene Projekte
Nanozerkleinerung von pharmazeutischen Wirkstoffen in Rührwerkskugelmühlen mehr

Vorträge